Top Five Favorite Movies of All Time

I have been a movie lover ever since I was five. My mom was proud of her most entertaining purchase then before the karaoke or multiplex player, the Betamax. She would rent from a store on the ground floor of her building then who seems to have latest of all movies even the ones which are yet to be shown at the theaters. And from then on, I have been a self-proclamed sort-of-movie critic.

My top five favorite movie of all time (not necessarily award winners but somehow those kind of movies that you don’t get tired of watching over and over again) are the following:

1.  Notting Hill (Hugh Grant, Julia Roberts) – I have watched the movie, I think more than ten times now. I don’t memorize the lines so I can pretend to watch the movie again for the first time. I guess, what draws me to the Notting Hill, besides Hugh Grant’s fantastic smile and witty talking, is that feeling of falling in love all over again. The idea of having a moviestar fall in love with an ordinary person is somewhat like a cinderella story. Another thing that I really love about the movie’s story is the bonding of William’s friends. 

2.  When Harry Met Sally (Meg Ryan, Billy Crystal) – The thought of finding someone, the right one out of the million people is destiny. Sometimes, the one you are looking for is right in front of your eyes and you don’t even know it.

3.  True Lies (Arnold Schwazenneger, Jaime Lee Curtis) – I couldn’t quite explain it why. I don’t know if its the action, the story, Arnold or the terrorists.  But my favorite scene is where Arnold made his wife dance a sexy dance on the bed while thinking that she is on a secret job. Jaime is just so sexy.

4.  As Good As It Gets (Jack Nicholson, Helen Hunt) – I like the eccentricity of Jack’s character and the hope that however a person’s unkind attitude is, there is a soft heart beneath inspite the oddity of reason. And Bordell is so cute.

5.  My Sassy Girl (Jeon Ji-hyun, Cha Tae-Yun, Kwak Jae-yong) – Because Kyun-woo looks so cute getting beaten up every now and then, enduring pains and humilitation for a reason he actually doesn’t understood at first.  Perhaps I could say that I just like it. Period.

      

  

 As you can see, based on my selection, I am hopeless romantic. That is if my practicality doesn’t get the best of me first. How about you, what is your top 5 favorite movie of all time?

5 Comments on “Top Five Favorite Movies of All Time”

  1. aprilfoolnyc says:

    This is a good post. I never really have given it a thought until now. So here goes…

    1) The Bridges of Madison County – they said it is about infidelity, but I see it as a movie about unfulfilled love. It made me realize that the one we married may not necessarily be “the one”.

    2) My Girl – a story about the innocence and painful memories of childhood

    3) When Harry Met Sally – I agree with you on this one because this is a classic. Also because the setting was in NYC.

    4) The Notebook – romantic in a cheesy kind of way, but I love the lines.

    5) An Affair to Remember – another classic love story

  2. tofubaby says:

    @april – I have always heard of Bridges of Madison Country but haven’t come around on watching it. I’ll go and see when opportunity comes.

  3. sexy mom says:

    i was about to agree with at least 3 of your favorites, but when i saw april’s list, oh my! i agree with her 100%, plus i like city of angels.

  4. tofubaby says:

    @sexy mom – Then I have to a copy of Bridges, My Girl, The Notebook and Affair since you guys agree on it. I saw My Girl and Affair way back but I couldn’t remember the details anymore. Thanks sexy mom. 🙂

  5. GirlyGirl says:

    Drew us beautiful! I like her too!


Leave a Reply

