I told you, I am a tofu addict!

I am happy today!  Horray! Horray!! My lunch is my favorite food on earth, TOFU!!

YUMMY!!!

 I am in heaven 🙂

7 Comments on “I told you, I am a tofu addict!”

  1. aprilfoolnyc says:

    Hi tofubaby,

    I’m glad I found someone who loves tofu!
    I’ve been trying to eat healthy so I decided to substitute meat with tofu. After two days of eating it, I am almost ready to give up.

    I don’t know where you are located but here in New York, the only way I can get my hands on tofu is at the Asian store packaged in little square containers and packed with water. I tried the Extra soft ones, they are good for desert or smoothies. The regular soft ones, I just eat it out of the box for lack of better ways to prepare it. But boy, it is not appetizing at all! It almost taste like cardboard.

    I am looking at the picture you have posted. How was that cooked? Do you use a dipping sauce to give it a little taste?

    Thanks much.
    aprilfoolnyc
    (My Little Corner)

  2. toni says:

    That DOES look good!

    Came upon your site through D Spot’s. I love your header and… I shall return! 😉

  3. tofubaby says:

    Hello aprilfoolnyc!

    My lunch yesterday was prepared by my officemate who serves our lunch. However, I was told that before you fry the tofu, put some salt ( rock salt is preffered but iodized will do ) first. How much depends on your taste. Put salt on all the sides. Then you can fry as is, which is my favorite that I call them, crispy tofu.

    Then the variety is, after adding salt, dip them into beaten eggs then fry.

    Another variety is, after dipping them into beaten eggs, you also roll them into breadcrumbs.

    Wow, all of this makes my mouth water. Yum yum. 🙂

    Then for the sauce, soy sauce is ok. You try also mixing soy sauce and vinegar, its the favorite here. To spice it up, you could put some chili pepper or plain pepper.

    I’ll post some of my own receipes soon. I’ll find time somehow.

    Many thanks for visiting, april. I love your site as well.

    Regards,
    tofubaby

  4. carlotta says:

    hi abbie! sarap naman nyang tofu! anong brand gamit mo when you cook it? we simply fry ours with a bit of cornstarch, then dip it into toyo and suka… yummm!!! =) we use masoya btw. ^^

  5. tofubaby says:

    @ carllota – actually, I just use the tofu that I could buy at the wet market near us. I am positive though that its one of the best as we have a factory of tofu and “taho” near us. Actually I could go and buy there but its kind of inconvinient as it is out of the way. 🙂 San mo nabibili yung masoya? Cornstarch? Hmmm.. yummy!!

  6. carla says:

    wow meron palang factory ng tofu malapit sa inyo eh. =) we get ours sa shopwise but i’m sure meron din sa mga ibang grocery. ^^

  7. Hi! just happened to pass by…

    We do tofu “tokwa’t baboy” style..
    We fry the tofu, then we make the sauce (made of fried pork, garlic, onion, vinegar and kikoman soy sauce) and pour it over…
    And we top it with raw red onions…

    mmmmmmm…..


Leave a Reply

