Writing a Journal

    writing_in_journal.jpeg

I have always love writing in a journal since I was a kid. I feel at peace whenever I write and I learn about myself more. The area that I fail in writing is the consistency. I have no discipline in doing it everyday much like what I am currently doing with this blog and my former others.  But a wake up call was due. Eversince i saw this book, I said I have to have a copy. I don’t care if its only a photocopy, what I am thirsty about is the details. The unknown knowledge that I may acquaire. I am voracious. And the added flavor to it is I know that the author is one of the best. The book? The Five Major Pieces of the Life Puzzle by Jim Rohn.

          As I go along the book, I began to think and ponder and think more about my past, current and future actions. He’s been telling me that “a major factor in determing how our lives turn out is the way we choose to think. Everything that goes on inside the human mind in the form of thoughts, ideas and information forms our personal philosophy.” But, how can we  develop a powerful personal philosophy? He has pointed a few things. First, he said,  it is important that we have new information. Unless we change what we know, we will continue to believe, decide, and act in manner that is contrary to our best interests. Second, we have to learn from personal experiences. One way to do something right is to do something wrong. Failure must teach us, or surely success will not reward us. Third, we must also learn from an outside voice. And list go on. But one of Mr. Rohn’s advice is for us to keep a journal.

        As he said that “A journal is a gathering place for all of our observations and discoveries about life. It is our own handwritten transcript, narrated in our own words, which captures the experiences, ideas, desires and conclusions about the people and events that have touched our lives.

       A journal provides us with two remarkable benefits. First, it allows us to capture all aspects of the present moment for future review. And second is that the very act of writing about our lives helps us to think more objectively about our actions.  Not to mention, keeping a journal also develops our ability to communicate more effectively.

       I could say, what he wrote about is true for me at least.  I am much better now in gathering my thoughts and communicating it. All I have to do now is learn the discpline of writing everyday.  What about you? How did a journal helped you?

One Comment on “Writing a Journal”

  1. ggwfung says:

    writing everyday gets it “out there’. It solidies your thoughts, makes them comprehensible.

    As you say, it’s all about learning from your experiences, and growing as a person.

    ggw


Leave a Reply

